MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair

$398.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
BUY FOR BEST PRICE
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair with Elevated Leg Extension and Open Front Soft Seat, 325 oz Capacity, Royal Blue/Forest Green/Mauve - $398.99
Price history
×
Price history for MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair with Elevated Leg Extension and Open Front Soft Seat, 325 oz Capacity, Royal Blue/Forest Green/Mauve
Latest updates:
  • $ 399.00 - 26 September 2021
  • $ 398.99 - 26 September 2021
  • $ 399.00 - 17 September 2021
  • $ 398.99 - 14 September 2021
  • $ 399.00 - 2 September 2021
  • $ 398.99 - 1 September 2021
Since: 1 September 2021
  • Highest Price: $ 399.00 - 2 September 2021
  • Lowest Price: $ 398.99 - 1 September 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 26 September 2021 14:42
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

To most people, showering is among the activities that make up a daily routine. However, this seemingly-routine activity can prove quite difficult and even dangerous for aged people due to the vastly reduced muscle strength and stability. This makes it necessary to have aids such as the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair to provide support and comfort while showering. Like other bathing aids, choosing the perfect reclining shower chair can be quite daunting.

Factors such as durability, sturdiness, comfort, and ease of assembly are attributes to consider in a potential purchase. Aesthetics also come into play since you do not want to end up with an ugly shower chair. While shower chairs are mostly meant for aged and disabled people, having one can also help in the case of an injury. If you are wondering how to get yourself or your loved one the perfect shower chair, our review of the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair has you covered.

Overview

The MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair is arguably one of the most common shower chair brands in the market today. Is it as good as the manufacturer promotes it? Here is a brief look at its main advantages and downsides.

Pros

  • Easy to assemble
  • Smooth movement
  • Numerous safety features
  • Excellent adjustability
  • Padded lumbar support

Cons

  • Cheap plastic casters
  • Requires large shower

What is the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair of?

The MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair is made using healthcare-grade materials and includes PVC casters, a padded seat, and padded lumbar support. Additionally, the quality used in putting the materials together is excellent, resulting in a great-looking shower chair.

Our MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair Review

One year ago, I purchased the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair for my aged husband, who was, at the time, beginning to have problems with his legs. He was finding the bathroom surface too unfriendly to stand on while taking a shower. A friend recommended the MJM chair, and I immediately ordered one. For about 12 months now, my husband has been using the chair daily.

This review will outline my opinions regarding the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair. It will primarily focus on four user-related aspects; comfort, ease of assembly, sturdiness and stability, and overall value for money. Please remember that the review is solely based on my personal opinions and those of my husband. Another person might have significantly varying opinions depending on their usage of the product.

Comfort (8.8/10)

Before purchasing a shower chair, I did some online window-shopping and instantly noted the positive comfort-related reviews that the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair had. Suffice to say, I was not disappointed when it finally arrived. To start with, the seat itself is sufficiently padded, resulting in great comfort. My husband often points out how he can easily spend hours on this chair.

The chair also has an adjustable head pillow and mesh back. Six levels of recline adjustability further complement these features. The user can choose between laying flat, sitting upright, and four other levels in between. My husband also loves the hole at the bottom of the chair, allowing easy access to his groin area.

I have seen other people mention that the seat pan is a bit hard for their liking. For us, though, it has the perfect balance between comfort and support. Additionally, the chair has numerous comfort-related features such as padded lumbar support, an elongated seat, an elevated extension for the legs, and safety hand grips.

Sturdiness & Stability (7.8/10)

Once we assembled the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair, it felt acceptably stable and sturdy. However, I quickly noticed that it felt less sturdy than other models I had seen at some of my colleagues’ houses. I think this is attributable to the materials used in the construction. The MJM is predominantly plastic, while the models I had seen elsewhere were made from aluminum.

My biggest qualm with the overall build quality involves the cheap-feeling plastic casters used in the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair. These broke after only a few days of usage. We had to replace the casters with high-quality rubber casters, and since then, the chair works perfectly. Additionally, the chair always tips forward when trying to clean the user’s back. The brakes do not seem to keep the chair in place when the forward weight comes into play.

Despite the shortcomings, though, the chair is still sturdy enough to hold my husband’s weight, and for us, that is quite okay.

Easy to Assemble (8.0/10)

When I purchased the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair, I was a bit concerned about having to call someone to help with the assembly. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the chair’s ease of assembly. It is certainly not as easy as, say, assembling a plastic stool, but it is not overly complicated.

The back and legs have grooves and notches that perfectly fit each other, easing up the entire assembly. Given that I am not exactly a hands-on person, I do not think anyone would have help assembling the chair. The only problem I encountered in the assembly was with the recline mechanism. Still, the manufacturer provides a detailed guide in the included instruction manual. Would I have loved to have an already assembled unit? Definitely.

Value for Money (8.2/10)

With the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair, my husband and I are overall quite satisfied with the purchase. It lacks in the sturdiness that comes with aluminum models, but besides that, it is a solid buy. There are cheaper models out there, but I doubt they would have provided enough savings to justify their significantly lesser features. Additionally, I feel like the pricier models cost much more than they offer in terms of features and quality.

The only parts of the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair that I dislike are the poorly-made plastic casters. If the manufacturer could improve on that, I would be thrilled with a future purchase.

Final Verdict 8.2

The MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair does not have any major flaw that would make me hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The comfort, sturdiness, stability, and value for money are acceptable for such a fairly-priced reclining shower chair. The chair does not precisely have stellar scores on any of these aspects, but it does what it is supposed to, and quite reliably so.

After evaluating the MJM International 193-SSDE Reclining Shower Chair’s main advantages and downsides, I gave it an eventual score of 8.2/10, reflecting my feelings about every aspect I reviewed.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Do the back and legs interlock, and does the back recline?
The chair’s legs and back have notches and grooves that fit perfectly into each other. The back reclines from a flat position to an upright sitting position and about four levels in between.

Can I find replacement wheels for this chair?
Please contact the manufacturer to find out more about the availability of parts.

Does this reclining chair come with installation instructions?
Yes, it comes with detailed instructions to guide you through the relatively simple installation.

Is this model a high-back one for Quadriplegics, and will it be suitable for a patient paralyzed from the neck down?
Yes, it is a high-back shower chair and ideal for a person paralyzed from the neck down.

8.2 Total Score

Comfort
8.8
Sturdiness and Stability
7.8
Easy to Assemble
8.0
Value for Money
8.2
PROS
  • Easy to assemble
  • Smooth movement
  • Numerous safety features
  • Excellent adjustability
  • Padded lumbar support
CONS
  • Cheap plastic casters
  • Requires large shower
Add your review
We will be happy to see your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

2 × three =