MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair

$190.33 $229.00

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
BUY FOR BEST PRICE
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair Large with Head Bolster, 180 oz Capacity, 34.75" Height x 45" Length x 19.75" Width, Royal Blue/Forest Green/Mauve (Assorted) - $190.33
Price history
×
Price history for MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair Large with Head Bolster, 180 oz Capacity, 34.75" Height x 45" Length x 19.75" Width, Royal Blue/Forest Green/Mauve (Assorted)
Latest updates:
  • $ 189.00 - 21 February 2021
  • $ 190.33 - 11 February 2021
  • $ 189.00 - 2 February 2021
Since: 2 February 2021
  • Highest Price: $ 190.33 - 11 February 2021
  • Lowest Price: $ 189.00 - 2 February 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 13 January 2021 09:04
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

It is easy to take specific routine tasks for granted, especially when it is easy to carry them out. However, advanced age comes with numerous complications that make these seemingly-easy tasks quite daunting. Taking a shower is among these activities that may seem relatively straightforward for a person in excellent health. For a person of advanced age, though, taking a shower can pose as much difficulty as any other challenging task.

Seniors might encounter difficulties showering due to factors such as slippery floors, lack of support grips in the bathroom, or reduced muscle strength that prevents them from standing for long. For these reasons, products such as the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair were developed to help old, injured, and disabled people take showers comfortably.

As you can probably imagine, numerous brands have reclining shower chairs in the modern-day market. The sheer number of options available can make it almost impossible to choose the perfect model. If you are currently searching for a shower chair, do not worry, our review of the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair will have you covered.

Overview

The ideal reclining shower chair should help the user enjoy absolute comfort while showering. It should be made from durable materials and feel reassuringly sturdy. Does the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair meet this criterion, and should you make it your next purchase? This review will help you figure that out. Here is a brief look at the main advantages and disadvantages of this reclining chair body.

Pros

  • Easy transferability
  • Great seat adjustability
  • Slip-resistant rubber pads on the legs
  • Relatively small
  • Sturdy and stable

Cons

  • Chair comes without base and casters
  • Occupies a large space

What is the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair Made of?

The MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair’s frame is predominantly constructed from healthcare-grade plastics. The backrest is made from a mesh-like material meant to guarantee quality, while the safety belts are made from a strong fabric. These materials result in the chair being lighter as compared to models made from aluminum and stainless steel. The bottom of the seat has some anti-slip rubber pads for use in bathing tubs.

Our MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Review

My wife and I purchased the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair a few months ago to help with the occasional times we needed assistance having showers or baths. I use it more frequently than her since I have a problematic back that prevents me from standing for more than ten minutes. We bought the reclining chair about seven weeks ago and have since been using it on an almost daily basis.

This review will outline our opinions regarding the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair, focusing on four main attributes; ease of assembly, comfort, sturdiness, and overall value for money. Since we are relatively aged and simple people, we know our opinions regarding this product may vary from those of other people. All views and scores given in this review are entirely based on our seven-week experience with this bath chair.

Comfort (8.0/10)

Before deciding on the particular reclining chair model to purchase, we decided that comfort was among the essential attributes to consider. The MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair features a 3-step recline adjustment that allows either of us to find the perfect position when taking a bath. We were a bit disappointed that the chair did not come with casters and a base, as we had seen in the picture. However, we later realized that the manufacturer actually talks about this on the packaging.

The chair’s adjustable belts also come in handy when one of us needs to be held in place to prevent inadvertent rolling or slips when bathing. Once we purchased the required base and casters, the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair felt complete and comfortable. The anti-slip rubber pads below the chair also improve the overall comfort by preventing unwanted movements while in the tub.

I also particularly love the adjustable head bolster since I am significantly taller than my wife. The padding on the headrest ensures that I can stretch my body and still have a soft surface to rest my head.

Sturdiness & Stability (7.8/10)

When we learned that the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair had a frame predominantly made out of plastic, we were a bit worried about its overall stability and sturdiness. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we received the chair from the online seller. There are no noticeable gaps or signs of poor quality. It does not exactly feel as premium as the metallic model, but it is not of poor quality. The manufacturer states that the chair is made using healthcare-grade plastics. While we cannot ascertain that, the PVC does feel quite lovely. It has no sharp edges, cracks, or manufacturing defects.

When we purchased the base and casters, the entire chair felt sturdier and more stable than before. It is hard to tell why this was the case since it involves extra parts that should have had the opposite effect. I wish the manufacturer would include these optional items in the base models since they would improve the overall sturdiness.

Easy to Assemble (8.0/10)

The MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair is easy to assemble, but not as easy as some other models I have seen on the internet. I could complete the entire chair without my wife’s help, but I must admit it was not exactly a walk in the park. If you have ample time to spare, you will definitely figure out the assembly after a while. However, if you want a bath chair, you can assemble before rushing to work, then you might feel disappointed (or get late for work).

The recline mechanism built into the middle section of the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair is entirely to blame for the less-than-impressive assembly. Still, I gave this product a high score on ease of assembly because I eventually managed to pull off the entire assembly all by myself. Since I am not exactly a hands-on person, I believe the assembly might be easier for other people. I actually hate assembling things! Why not just sell pre-assembled products? It makes life easier.

Value for Money (8.5/10)

The MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair is not exactly cheap, but it is nowhere near the steep prices we saw attached to other batch chairs. With this model, we missed out on having a metallic frame and built-in casters. However, we quickly purchased the latter and are quite happy living without the former. We have used our bath chair for several weeks. We feel it is among the most helpful purchases we have ever made.

The PVC used in construction certainly feels like it will hold its own for a very long time. We are satisfied with our purchase and would gladly recommend this to anyone looking for a bath chair on a budget.

Final Verdict 8.1

From the attributes we have reviewed above, you can probably tell that we would very quickly recommend the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair to anyone. The chair only scores low on stability and sturdiness, and even then, it is not a dismal score. If you are looking for an excellent bang for your buck, then you will not go wrong with this particular model.

After evaluating the pros and cons of the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair over our seven-week use, we gave it a final score of 8.1/10, a great overall score for a product targeted at a relatively demanding customer base.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Does this chair come with casters?
No, the base and casters are sold differently. While the picture depicts a complete reclining bath chair, the manufacturer mentions the optional base and casters on the package.

Does this chair come with assembly instructions?
Yes, the manufacturer includes an easy-to-follow instruction manual that outlines how to assemble the chair. However, it is relatively easy to assemble, even without referring to the manual.

Is this chair a high-back model, and is it suitable for a person disabled from the shoulders down?
Yes, the MJM International 191-L-HB Reclining Bath Chair contains a high-back mesh support. This is further complemented by an adjustable head bolster, making it ideal for such a disabled person.

8.1 Total Score

Comfort
8.0
Sturdiness and Stability
7.8
Easy to Assemble
8.0
Value for Money
8.5
PROS
  • Easy transferability
  • Great seat adjustability
  • Slip-resistant rubber pads on the legs
  • Relatively small
  • Sturdy and stable
CONS
  • Chair comes without base and casters
  • Occupies a large space
Add your review
We will be happy to see your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

2 × 1 =