Carex Toilet Seat Riser

$20.35 $22.38

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
BUY FOR BEST PRICE
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Carex Toilet Seat Riser - Adds 5 Inch of Height to Toilet - Raised Toilet Seat With 300 Pound Weight Capacity - Slip-Resistant - $20.35
Price history
×
Price history for Carex Toilet Seat Riser - Adds 5 Inch of Height to Toilet - Raised Toilet Seat With 300 Pound Weight Capacity - Slip-Resistant
Latest updates:
  • $ 20.29 - 26 February 2021
  • $ 20.35 - 21 February 2021
Since: 21 February 2021
  • Highest Price: $ 20.35 - 21 February 2021
  • Lowest Price: $ 20.29 - 26 February 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 25 February 2021 19:01
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

This Carex toilet seat riser review will bring you a step closer to one of the best-selling products of this type. Do you want to know if it is stable enough or easy to clean? You can find out everything about it if you continue reading.

Overview

These two lists of pros and cons are meant to give you a general idea of the product before you read a much more detailed assessment.

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Decent quality for the price

Cons

  • Not returnable
  • Doesn’t come with arm handles
  • Not good for elongated toilet seats

What is the Carex Toilet Seat Riser Made of?

The Carex toilet seat riser is an aid that is meant to add height to your toilet and is great for all people who need an extra hand when going to the bathroom. It’s made of a molded plastic material.

According to the brand, this is a universal toilet seat riser that fits both round and elongated toilets. It adds 5” in height. As for the riser’s dimensions, they are 5” height, 15” width, 16” depth. The size of the hole is 10”. It weighs 5.5 pounds, and it can hold up to 300 pounds in weight.

This is another riser meant for older adults, handicapped, people suffering from injuries, or recovering from surgeries. Anyone with trouble sitting on the toilet seat or getting up from it can get this aiding tool.

On the bottom part, the Carex riser has anti-slip pads that help it stay in place. You don’t need special tools for the installation. Just take it out of the packaging and place it on top of your toilet seat. Yes, you don’t need to remove the toilet seat. It also doesn’t use a hinge or a locking mechanism.

Our Carex Toilet Seat Riser Review

Now it’s time to review this toilet seat riser in four essential categories: comfort, stability, maintenance, and value for money. It will give you even more information about its features, and you’ll know exactly what to expect.

Comfort (8.6/10)

This is a contoured seat that is made that way for improved comfort. When you sit on it, you’ll feel as comfortable as you could on a riser seat. We didn’t expect the seat to be soft, but we sure didn’t expect it to be as hard as it is.

This riser adds a height of 5”. That is more than enough for regular people, but tall people might find it a little low. It’s the perfect height for average people. So far, we’ve reviewed another riser that adds 3.5”, that would be best for shorter people.

One of the things that can feel uncomfortable is the small hole opening and the fact that the riser is not designed for bigger people. Also, we were disappointed when it started moving when we installed it on an elongated toilet seat. We felt like we were slipping on it, and we’re about to fall. That really destroys the comfort, plus can lead to injuries.

Another thing you want to think about before purchasing is whether you need arm handles or not. They can improve the level of comfort and make you feel safer. If you’re struggling with limited mobility, arm handles can be a great support and make you feel more comfortable when getting up. This riser does not come with arm handles, unfortunately.

The final comfort score for the Carex toilet seat riser is 8.6 out of 10.

Sturdiness & Stability (7.8/10)

Although the brand mentions that this riser fits both round and elongated toilet bowls, it doesn’t. We tested it on both shapes, and we didn’t like how it fit on the elongated one. There was space in the front and the back, which made the riser shaky, and a little unstable.

It’s secure enough on round toilet bowls, thanks to the rubber anti-slip pads on the bottom of the riser. We have to mention that this is not the most stable riser on the market, hence the grade of 7.8.

For this price, you can’t expect to get a product made of high-quality material. This is molded plastic, but it’s not very sturdy. Thankfully it did not change the shape in our case, but there are so many other customers who complained in that department.

If you are recovering from surgery, you’re badly injured and have really limited mobility. This riser might not be the safest thing for you. Since it doesn’t have arm handles, you might find it a little difficult to use. Remember, if you purchase it, don’t put more weight on one side. Put an equal amount on both sides to avoid having a wobbly seat riser.

However, if it’s a product that you’ll only be using for a short time, it’s definitely worth buying. There are so many other customers online that are happy with it in the long term but don’t expect it to be very stable and secure.

The weight capacity for the riser is 300 pounds, but it can feel tight for big people.

Easy to Clean (9.0/10)

The Carex toilet seat riser is easy to clean and doesn’t retain odor. It does tend to retain a little color, but it’s not something we couldn’t deal with. We cleaned it with disinfecting wipes after every use.

The good thing about this riser is that it doesn’t retain urine between its bottom and toilet seat bowl. It’s not made from high-quality plastic. Maybe that’s why the staining is expected.

Also, it’s straightforward to remove, so you’ll be able to take it off the toilet, clean it thoroughly, and put it back on without too much effort and without spending too much time. Since it’s lightweight, it also makes it easy for people with limited mobility to keep it clean.

However, the hole is too small, so it can be hard for you to use toilet paper in your private areas. Also, urine can easily get in touch with the hole, meaning that this is not the most sanitary product. We wish manufacturers solved this problem because it happened with most of the risers that we’ve tried. If you move forward to make more space, the riser can become unstable, so be careful.

Since we found this product simple to maintain without any significant downsides in this department, we gave it a 9.0 out of 10.

Value for Money (8.2/10)

This is an affordable toilet seat riser that won’t break the bank. It’s great if you only need to use it for a short time since you don’t have to pay too much.

Since this is made of mid-level plastic, it does tend to stain and change its form a little over time. Unfortunately, the non-slip attachments on the bottom are not enough to keep it stable after a few months. Maybe if the manufacturer added extra attachments that would improve the stability, this would be a fantastic product for everyone.

If you have a more severe condition and need extra support, this one probably won’t do it. Since it doesn’t have any arm handles, you have to be careful when getting up. It is stable on a round toilet bowl, but it still doesn’t offer enough support.

For the amount that you’ll pay, this is a good purchase. It doesn’t feature arm handles or any kind of new technology. It’s a very basic, simple design that is supposed to elevate your toilet seat. When it comes to its value for money, we had to rate it with an 8.2 out of 10.

Final verdict 8.4

In general, this is not a bad product at all. However, it does have its flaws, which we discussed previously.
One of the biggest cons is that it is not meant for elongated toilet bowls. It was too loose on ours, which made it unstable. Also, it doesn’t come with arm handles, which is very helpful for people with limited mobility.

Although it perfectly fit our round standard bowl, it still wasn’t as stable as we wish it were. This is an important feature, considering that we’re talking about an aid used by people who have trouble sitting down and standing up.

When it comes to the goods sides, the first one is its affordable character. For everyone who needs a seat riser for a short time and is not ready to pay a high price, this is the perfect product for them. But, if you’ll need it for a while and need a lot of support when in the bathroom, this riser might not be the best idea.

In terms of maintenance, you’ll find it easy to take care of it. Although it doesn’t retain odor, it does stain easily. And we tried removing the discoloration many times, but it’s still there. If it’s something that doesn’t bother you, go ahead and add the riser to your cart.

Since this is a very affordable product anyone can get, it is worth your money, as long as you know exactly what you’ll be using it for and as long as you’re familiar with the pros and cons. We recommend it for people who don’t have trouble with minimal mobility and will use it for a couple of weeks. Also, if budget-friendly is the first requirement on your list, you’ve just found yourself the right product.

Our final verdict for the Carex toilet seat riser is 8.4 out of 10.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Do I have to remove my toilet seat to install the Carex toilet seat riser?
No, you can install the toilet seat riser on top of the toilet seat. You don’t have to remove it.

Is it complicated to install?
Not at all. You only need seconds to install this riser.

Can I return this toilet seat riser if I don’t like it?
No, the seller does not allow returns for the Carex toilet seat riser?

How much height will this riser add to my toilet seat?
It will add 5” in height to the toilet seat.

8.4 Total Score

Comfort
8.6
Sturdiness & Stability
7.8
Easy to Clean
9.0
Value for Money
8.2
PROS
  • Affordable
  • Decent quality for the price
CONS
  • Not returnable
  • Doesn’t come with arm handles
  • Not good for elongated toilet seats
Add your review
We will be happy to see your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

16 − three =